you're reading...
Leadership and Activism

I attribute my success to the National Writing Project

Karen Greco contributes this #blog4nwp guest post to the Coöp.

The NWP equipped me to teach English: reading and writing.  After attending a summer institute at a university near me, the University of Houston at Clear Lake, I received the teacher of the year award for my district two years in a row.  I learned more in one summer at the NWP than I have learned in all the professional development workshops I have had combined over twenty years. 

Working with the NWP as a facilitator at another site’s summer institute equipped me to train other teachers how to teach both reading and writing better.  Just this week, I applied a poetry lesson I learned at my summer institute, and the students surveyed [afterwards] responded that they had never learned how to write poetry in such a user-friendly manner before.  The teacher-modeling and students’ opportunities for personal choice made the unit more pleasing and successful for everyone. 

I attribute my success as a teacher to the National Writing Project.  I hope it will be continued and allowed to expand to other universities. 

Karen Greco
Attended NWP University of Houston Clear Lake, 2002
Facilitator NWP Sam Houston State University, 2004-2008

About coopcatalyst

A dedicated group of individual thinkers, committed to personal refinement and reflection to bring forth meaningful and timely education in

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The #blog4nwp archive « Cooperative Catalyst - March 25, 2011

Join the Conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,095 other subscribers

Comments are subject to moderation.