you're reading...
Satire

Chad Sansing comes clean about positive test scores

All sizes by giulia.forsythe

All sizes by giulia.forsythe

Interviewer: Did you ever use worksheets to enhance your students’ test performance?

Chad Sansing: Yes.

I: Was one of those worksheets a word search?

CS: Yes.

I: Did you ever teach to the test or use released items to enhance your students’ test performance?

CS: Yes.

I: Did you ever use any other paperwork, such as 3-5 essays, fill-in-the-blanks, or guided note-taking?

CS: Yes.

I: In all seven of years of your high standardized test scores, did you ever use work sheets or test prep?

CS: Yes.

I: Was it humanly possible to achieve those test scores without test prep, seven times?

CS: Not in my opinion. That generation. I didn’t invent the culture, but I didn’t try to stop the culture.

About Chad Sansing

I teach for the users. Opinions are mine; content is ours.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Chad Sansing comes clean about positive test scores

  1. Honest, honest, great Chad.

    Posted by Kirsten Olson | January 20, 2013, 9:37 pm
    • It’s kind of weird to blame folks for cheating in a culture in which all the legitimized means of performance are, in themselves, authentic only to performance enhancement. But there’s 30 years of ed policy for you –

      Thanks, friend –
      C

      Posted by Chad Sansing | January 21, 2013, 10:04 am
  2. This simple post really stirred the pot for me last night. I think I even dreamed about it — honestly! Thank you, Chad.

    Have you been following this article about Seattle teachers doing something? http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/wp/2013/01/11/teachers-refuse-to-give-standardized-test-at-seattle-high-school/

    Trusting Teachers with School Success (www.trustingteachers.org) documents what some teachers are doing to change the culture. With authority to collectively make the decisions influencing whole school success they are broadening the definition of student achievement in their schools, and inventing or adopting new means of assessment to go along with it. Like The Hope Survey: http://www.hopesurvey.org/

    Posted by Kim Farris-Berg @farrisberg | January 21, 2013, 9:53 am
    • Thank you for thinking on this and for sharing those links! I have been watching Seattle – and I have looked at Trusting Teachers, but not as deeply as I should.

      While I know my day-to-day practice has changed for good in the last 5 years (in a grass-roots, kids-first charter school with much teacher input), I still proctor tests and I’m still not a wrench in the gears of testing, so I dwell on that. And what is the best, right balance between the work with kids in our schools and the work in or outside the system?

      Onward to the next, future interview,
      C

      Posted by Chad Sansing | January 21, 2013, 10:11 am

Join the Conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,095 other subscribers

Comments are subject to moderation.